Six ICSEW Representatives Receive Awards

OLYMPIA—The Interagency Committee of State Employed Women, ICSEW, is pleased to announce this year’s annual award recipients. Six ICSEW members were recognized during its annual celebration meeting July 21, 2020. The event was held via Zoom and streamed on Facebook Live.
During the meeting, Dr. Karen Johnson, equity and inclusion administrator for the Washington State Department of Corrections gave a presentation Take Flight. She talked about systemic racism and social inequalities experienced by black, indigenous and people of color communities highlighted in current events surrounding the pandemic and protests around the country. She quoted the late civil rights leader John Lewis “Never be afraid to make some noise and get in good, trouble, necessary trouble,” and encouraged all attendees to discover what they’re good at and use it to dismantle systemic racism. A video recording of the meeting can be viewed on the Interagency Committee of State Employed Women’s Facebook page. Minutes can be viewed at
The following ICSEW representatives received awards:
Everlasting Award – Cheryl Flynn, Employment Security Department
 The recipient of the Everlasting Award has served at least two terms as representative for their state agency. The recipient remains calm under pressure and handles changes in leadership with resilience. This representative also retains and shares a wealth of historical information and assists others at all times.
Flynn, an assistant to the CFO at the Employment Security Department, is also the ICSEW’s Legislative and Policy Subcommittee Chair.
Visionary Award – Jane Chapman, Department of Licensing
This award recognizes a committee member who helps see out future and helps us get there. The recipient demonstrates innovation and constantly implements new ideas.
Chapman, who is a licensing services representative is also the ICSEW Vice Chair.
Lorrie Jo Brown Excellence in Service Award – Marianne McIntosh
This award honors someone who demonstrates innovative problem solving and excellence in public service. It is named after the late Lorrie Jo Brown. During her service with ICSEW, Lorrie Jo Brown played an instrumental role in the committee’s breastfeeding survey project and in mentoring others.
McIntosh, a tax policy specialist with the Department of Revenue, serves as the ICSEW’s Membership Subcommittee Chair.
Extra Mile Award –  Beth Archer, State Investment Board and Jasmine Pippin-Timco, Liquor and Cannabis Board
The recipient of this award has gone above and beyond to serve the ICSEW’s mission. The recipient demonstrates an outstanding effort on committee work and activities and commits time and energy to enrich lives though advocacy, outreach and opportunity.
Archer is an administrative assistant for the State Investment Board. Pippin-Timco is a licensing specialist for the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board. She also serves as co-chair of the ICSEW’s Public Outreach Subcommittee.
Leadership Award – Debbie Baker, Department of Revenue
This award is given to an outstanding leader. The recipient demonstrates courage in making leadership decisions, excellence in professionalism and actively assists others in realizing their potential.
Baker is an information technology application development journey for the Washington State Department of Revenue. She is also the ICSEW’s Professional Development Subcommittee Chair.