ICSEW Welcomes New Members

ICSEW logo

By Rachel Friederich, ICSEW Communications Chair

August 6, 2020

Interagency Committee of State Employed Women Welcomes New Agency Representatives

OLYMPIA—The Interagency Committee of State Employed Women, ICSEW, virtually welcomed 24 new state agency representatives and alternate representatives at its annual Celebration Meeting July 21, 2020. The event was held on Zoom and streamed on Facebook Live.

The ICSEW is made up of governor-appointed representatives from various state agencies and higher education institutions. Representatives perform work related to the committee’s mission of bettering the lives of state employees by advising the governor and agencies on policies that affect state employed women.

Representatives who are appointed serve a two-year term. As per the committee’s bylaws, state agencies are allowed to have one representative for every 2,000 employees. Agencies are also permitted to

The Transition Celebration and Meeting, which is open to the public, serves as a way for new and perspective committee members and guests to learn about the work the committee does and to celebrate the committee’s major accomplishments over the previous fiscal year.

The newly-appointed representatives are as follows:

  • Brooke Bane, Professional Licensing Manager, Department of Licensing
  • Chrishen Heaton, CSU Administrator, Department of Fish and Wildlife
  • Corey Morss, Environmental Engineer, Department of Fish and Wildlife
  • Danielle Rannow, DVR Assistant Administrator, Department of Licensing
  • Deirdre Bissonette, Fish Hatchery Specialist, Department of Fish and Wildlife
  • Julia McNamara, Administrative Assistant, Recreation and Conservation Office
  • Karen Landis, Public Disclosure Manager, Department of Licensing
  • Kathryn Pittelkau, PACE Policy Program Manager, Department of Social and Health Services
  • Keri O’Connell, Tribal Liaison, Department of Revenue
  • Lydia White, Executive Assistant, Employment Security Department
  • Megan Zarzycki, Property Acquisition Specialist, Department of Fish and Wildlife
  • Melissa Thomas, Administrative Assistant, Department of Licensing
  • Melissa Crumb, Program Specialist, Department of Labor and Industries
  • Melissa Harris, Human Resource Consultant, Department of Enterprise Services
  • Meranda Bilbrey, Investigator, Utilities and Transportation Commission
  • Nicole Nisbet, Continuous Improvement Program Manager, Department of Licensing
  • Rachelle Bohler, Program Specialist, Department of Labor and Industries
  • Ronda Rios, Customer Service Specialist, Department of Licensing
  • Sandi Ruedy, Judical Assistant, Board of Industrial Insurance Appeals
  • Sherrie Thissell, Information Technology Business Analyst, Department of Licensing
  • Tien-Shui Tsou, Marine Fish Management Scientist, Department of Fish and Wildlife
  • Tracie Cluke, Customer Service Specialist, Department of Licensing
  • Valerie Robinson, Information Technology and Planning Senior Manager, Department of Fish and Wildlife
  • Whitney Montemarano, Exam Administrator, Department of Licensing

Any state employee or employee of a higher education institution may serve as a representative, regardless of gender. Anyone interested in serving as an ICSEW representative for their agency must submit a letter of interest, current resume and a letter from their agency’s director or sponsor to icsew@ofm.wa.gov. More information about becoming an ICSEW representative can be found at https://icsew.wa.gov/represent/.





July 2020 Celebration Meeting Preview

confetti with ICSEW logo
Image created by Rachel Friederich

Virtual Celebration Will Be Tuesday, July 21 on Zoom and Facebook Live

Dr. Karen Johnson, Equity and Inclusion Administrator for the Washington State Department of Corrections, will be the keynote speaker for the Interagency Committee of State Employed Women’s 2020  transition celebration. The event will be held virtually place from 8:30 a.m. to noon. July 21 via Zoom and Facebook Live.

Registration Information: Zoom attendees must register through EventBrite. After registering through EventBrite, attendees will receive a confirmation email with the Zoom meeting link. Zoom is limited to 300 attendees. The ICSEW will also live stream the event on its Facebook page.

The transition celebration is one of the ICSEW’s largest events of the year. It celebrates the committee’s accomplishments over the past year and also serves as a way for the general public and perspective members to learn about the committee’s work. The event is filled with inspirational speakers and professional development presentations. Current Perspective ICSEW members are encouraged to attend. Current a members are encouraged to attend and invite guests and their agency sponsors.

The meeting will also contain a short ceremony recognizing outstanding work of current members and thanking members whose terms of service are ending for their contributions. ICSEW executive board members will also welcome newly-appointed ICSEW representatives and alternate representatives.

Jasmine Pippin-Timco and Debra Lefing, co-chairs for the ICSEW’s Public Outreach subcommittee will also announce the recipient organizations for its annual charity drive. Each year the ICSEW Public Outreach Subcommittee coordinates a statewide charity project for a Washington State Combined Fund Drive charity. This year, the subcommittee will be collecting gift cards and supplies for organizations that offer shelter, support and other resources for victims of domestic violence.

About Dr. Karen Johnson

Dr. Karen Johnson
Dr. Karen Johnson

As part of the DOC’s team devoted to diversity, equity, inclusion and respect, Johnson says she feels blessed to be in a space that aligns her professional and personal passions.  DOC’s mission is to improve public safety by positively changing lives, and its goal is to prepare incarcerated individuals to successfully return to their communities. Working for fairness and equity fuels her.

Johnson also volunteers her time with national and local organizations and causes focused on improving the lives of children, women and underserved populations.  These include serving on the boards of the Making a Difference Foundation, The YMCA,Olympia-Capital Centennial Rotary ClubJunior League of Olympia, and the Washington State Commission on African American Affairs. Johnson has been recognized by the Washington Association of School Administrators, the Olympia Education Association, theWashington State Thurston Group, Olympia High School, and Rotary District 5020 (encompassing Vancouver Island and North West Washington from Pierce County south to Woodland including the Olympic Peninsula) for her volunteerism.

Johnson holds a bachelor’s degree in occupational therapy, a master’s in public administration, and doctorate in Urban Services. She is also a member of the 2018 Leadership Women America cohort.