group of people
Governor Jay Inslee (center) poses with ICSEW representatives at the 2018 Transition Celebration in Olympia.

The Interagency Committee of State Employed Women (ICSEW) has evolved through a number of advisory councils since 1963, when Governor Rosellini established the Washington State Commission on the Status of Women. The Commission was formed in response to President Kennedy’s National Commission on the Status of Women.

On October 19, 1970, Governor Evans established the Washington State Interagency Committee on the Status of Women. The first task of this 13-member committee was to evaluate Washington State’s response to the recommendations in the 1963 Commission report and express further requirements for change.

When Governor Gardner reaffirmed his support for the committee by signing an Executive Order on November 7, 1989, he gave a 1990s focus to an effort that began in the 1960s.  The committee’s name was changed to the Interagency Committee of State Employed Women (ICSEW) and was expanded to include members from institutions of higher education and the judicial system.

On February 1, 2006, Governor Gregoire demonstrated her support by signing a new executive order allowing those participants and other small agencies to be appointed as members. This opened the ICSEW to all state agencies and institutes of higher education no matter how many females were employed at their departments.

On March 8, 2016, Governor Jay Inslee reaffirmed ICSEW via Executive Order 16-04, which continued support for the committee’s long history of improving the lives of state employed women.

Past Chairs

1963-1964 Mildred Dunn, Agency Unknown

1964-1965 Vesta Cutting, Private Business

1966-1970 Waneta McClung, Private Business

1970-1971 Thomas Gardener, Governor’s Office

1971-1975 Janet Ward, Department of Personnel

1975-1976 Laurie Sanders, Department of Licensing

1976-1977 Bette Johnson, Department of Fisheries

1977-1977 Marge Olson, Department of Game

1977-1978 Bernie Smith, Department of Labor and Industries

1978-1979 Laurie Sanders, Department of Licensing

1979-1979 Gretchen Thorsen, Department of Social and Health Services

1979-1982 Mary Jo Lavin, Department of Natural Resources

1982-1985 Maxine Krull, Employment Security Department

1985-1986 Kathy Sullivan, Office of Financial Management

1986-1987 Sheryl Wilson, Department of Retirement System

1987-1990 Marveen Rohr, Department of Wildlife

1990-1992 Kathy Willis, Department of Labor and Industries

1992-1994 Linda Lethlean, Department of Revenue

1994-1994 Sadie Hawkins, Office of Financial Management

1994-1996 Rachel LeMieux, Department of Revenue

1996-1997 Marguerite Austin, Interagency Comm. for Outdoor Recreation

1997-1998 Dawn Hitchens, Higher Education Coordinating Board

1998-1999 Kristi Hubble, Department of Licensing

1999-2000 Dawn Baker, Department of Social and Health Services

2000-2001 Kathy Shore, Department of Health

2001-2003 Annykay Melendez, State Auditor’s Office

2003-2005 Vicki Rummig, Office of Financial Management

2005-2007 Dianna Gifford, Department of Natural Resources

2007-2008 Connie Riker, Department of General Administration

2008-2009 Amilee Wilson, Department of Fish and Wildlife

2009-2012 Genevieve O’Sullivan, St. Auditor’s Office/Redistricting Comm.

2012-2015 Jhenifer Morfitt, Department of Fish and Wildlife

2015-2016 Maria Peterson, Department of Corrections

2016-2018 Leatta Dahlhoff, Department of Ecology

2019-Present Amal Joury, Office of Minority and Women’s Business Enterprises

Past Logos

historic ICSEW logo 1

historic ICSEW logo 3

historic ICSEW logo 2